The public picture of politicians rarely includes those politicians who conduct themselves with integrity, respecting the need for honest, open and accountable government.  In addition, there is  no public recognition of their integrity and no system to reward or encourage such integrity. The “Parliamentary Integrity Awards” are intended to fill that gap.

The ACCOUNTABILITY ROUND TABLE  has created two Parliamentary Integrity Awards for federal parliamentarians. They  honour two former members of the federal Parliament, John Button and Alan Missen, in recognition of their outstanding commitment to the values, purposes and duties for which power was entrusted to them as members of the Australian ParliamentAWARD 1. The Missen  Award for backbenchers
(including independents and members of minority parties).

Criteria available here…

AWARD 2. The Button Award for Ministers, Parliamentary Secretaries and Shadow Ministers and Parliamentary Secretaries

Criteria available here…


Who is eligible?

Person eligible for the awards are members of the current federal parliament and they will be judged on their performance over the term of that parliamentary period.

Selection Committee

The selection committee comprises Hon Tim Smith QC, Hon Jim Carlton AO, Ms Lyn Allison, Assoc Prof Hon Ken Prof Emeritus David Yencken AO, Prof Charles Sampford, Mr Harry Evans, and Dr David Solomon.


Nominations now closed


The Accountability Round Table Integrity Awards Button and Missen prizes will be made on 15th June 2010 at Parliament House Canberra on June 15th between 3pm and 6 pm

A press release promoting our awards from Senator Joe Ludwig the minister responsible for integrity of government, is attached below

Related Documents

Media Release Button and Missen Awards

View Integrity Awards Page

Share This