The awards

The Button Award for ministers who served on the front bench

– The Hon Dr Andrew Leigh MP for his exemplary performance in raising the level of debate on economic and social issues
Dr Leigh said:

Humbled to have received the Accountability Round Table’s John Button integrity award, named after one of Australia’s greatest parliamentarians.

The Missen Award for back and cross benchers

Dr Helen Haines MP for her strong advocacy for a Commonwealth integrity commission and for introducing draft legislation
Dr Haines said:

I am honoured and surprised at receiving this award. When I think about Alan Missen he was courageous – he always put principles, people, and the parliament before the party. Thank you to ART for awarding me the Alan Missen Integrity Award with fellow independents and congratulations also to Andrew Leigh for receiving the John Button Award.

Zali Steggall MP for her advocacy for stronger action on climate change and introducing draft legislation
Zali Steggall said:

It’s an incredible honour to have been nominated and to receive this award. We represent communities that want to see politics done differently. A big motivator for me is to pull back the curtain on what happens in Parliament. Too often the Australian public is asked to vote then left in the dark for 3 years without genuinely being brought into decision-making, the process of how government decisions are made that will impact their lives.

Senator Rex Patrick for his exemplary, forensic and courageous questioning on complex and important issues
Senator Patrick said:

I look every day in the mirror and ask myself if I am happy with myself. If we can do that we end up with a world that is a better place.

There are three issues he is still championing – the National Cabinet, challenging the huge FOI delays and the prosecution of whistleblowers David McBride and Richard Boyle.

Congratulations all!

Share This